WW100 – New Zealand's First World War Centenary Programme ran from 2014 to 2019

Please note this site has been archived


Letters in Wartime concert

The APO present a concert created by four composers who have produced new music in response to letters (held at Auckland Museum) written by NZ soldiers during the First World War. 25 May 2015.

APO Letters in Wartime

Four composers have been selected to write new music in response to letters held at Auckland War Memorial Museum in its public collection, written by New Zealand soldiers during the First World War.
The composers selected are Louise Webster, Rachael Morgan, Jonathan Mandeno, and Callum Blackmore.
Throughout 2014 they will workshop their new pieces in three full orchestral sessions, provide feedback for each other, and have support from the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra’s (APO's) Composer-in-Residence Kenneth Young.
Performance of these four pieces, plus other wartime orchestral classics, will be presented by the APO on 25 May 2015. Plus three of the texts will be sung by NBR NZ Opera Emerging Artists and one will be using a traditional Maori instrument - The Taonga Puoro.
For more information see our website.

Click on the image to view full size
This activity is being worked on from
25 May 2015
Date added: 08 January 2014 | Last updated: 16 June 2015